April 16, 2024

  • Instagram
India Beat England by 7 wickets, Win Series 2-1

India Beat England by 7 wickets, Win Series 2-1

India cricket team clinched the three-match T20I series (2-1)  with a sensational triumph over England in a record winning spree.

Rohit Sharma hit a blistering 56-ball century. Sharma’s unbeaten 100 helped India to chase England’s 198/ 9 with  201/3 runs in 18.4 overs with Hardik Pandya’s (33*) and captain Virat Kohli’s (43).

This is India’s highest successful chase in a T20I outside India, highest successful chase by any side against England and the
highest successful chase by any side in England. 
India has now played eight three-match T20I series, have won all eight.

Sharma now has 3 Test 100s 3 T20I 100s 3 ODI 200’s.  Sharma got the man of the match and man of the series award.

“That’s the style of my play. Assessing conditions was important at the start of the innings. Once we see off the new ball, we always knew wicket was a good one with short boundaries, ”  Sharma said.

Sharma also praised Pandya for his stellar all-rounder performance

“Hardik is a fearless individual. He carried his bowling form to the middle when he came out to bat. It is something that the team wants from him,” added Sharma.

Meanwhile, Kohli praised the entire team’s effort, especially the bowlers who restricted England batsmen to 198.

” The comeback from the bowlers was outstanding. At one stage we thought they’d end up getting 225-230. But the character we showed, that’s something we’re very proud of. Just hit our areas better I guess,” said Kohli.

Moreover, the captain of England team, Eoin Morgan said that the batting side performed well but they lacked in the overall execution.

” Tremendous start with the bat. Roy and Buttler proved to be a dominant force at the top but we didn’t do justice to the platform. Faltered in execution. Normally it’s one of the best parts of our game,” said Morgan.

However, India will be playing the next three-match One Day International (ODI) series on 12th July, 14th July & 17th July and look forward to another winning spree.

About The Author

Related posts