November 15, 2019

  • Instagram
Indian Cricket Team and its Champion Cause

Indian Cricket Team and its Champion Cause

Exide – Post Banner

By: Sandipan Bose

KL Rahul

Individuals can never be bigger than the sport. This is the biggest lesson one learns from cricket. No matter how big you are as a cricketer, you can’t be bigger than the game. Steve Smith’s performance validates the point.

Smith, in the four-match Test series, elucidated the point that the runs alone can’t win you games. Yes, Smith had three centuries under his belt against India and also earned the tag of being the highest run score (499 runs).

Still, Smith’s team ended up losing the series. He turned out to the last man standing whenever Australia came out to bat. Whereas, India wasn’t about their opener KL Rahul, who scored six fifties out of seven innings, only.

Read More: Kohli Hails Team After Border Gavaskar Trophy Win

There was Cheteshwar Pujara who scored 12 runs more than Rahul. He become the second best scorer in the series after Smith. Then, there was Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha and Ravindra Jadeja.

Jadeja found his mojo back with the bat, after claiming 25 wickets in the series, whose contribution was equally big. Those who thought that India were all about Virat Kohli were proven wrong once again.

India are about a team, and a team has ten other members, who have reached this highest stage after proving their worth at difference levels. And in the center of that, there is the Indian captain Kohli.

Read More: Most Evenly Contested Series in Recent History

Kohli was unfortunate to miss out on the most important Test match of his career because India’s position as NO. 1 team in the world at stake today. But his replacement for the four Test Rahane proved himself to be a great leader. Everything he did, he did with a cool composure without challenging surrounding.

Rather, he took the burden of captain as a challenge and ended up making a name for himself. It was also about the team, which he led to perfection and right temperament. Right from Rahul to Umesh Yadav, everyone contributed to the win. Perhaps, Rahul opening partner Murali Vijay was the only non-performer in the match. Otherwise, India really proved it once again to the world that they gave a champion team and they don’t rely on individual champion!

India vs Australia 4th Test Result, India vs Australia 2017, India vs Australia Test Series, Dharamshala Test, Border Gavaskar Trophy, Virat Kohli, Indian Cricket Team

Related posts